Beer Jelly

I know, I know…. It’s been a really long time since I posted anything. You would be absolutely right, and although there are plenty of excuses the biggest has to simply be the fact that we haven’t been able to get together and all taste for a REALLY long time! First, Scott changed shifts, which took our weekly night together and threw it out the window. Then, we had a little bit of drama, and finally we had harvest season. Yep, harvest season. I happen to have a pretty large garden, and several others also garden, so about the end of August I experienced what I called “Tomatogeddon”. The only thing that put an end to it was our first hard freeze of the year. That being said, canning season is never done, and so I’m posting this with hopes that you have a couple bottles of beer leftover that might be put to better use than drinking (hahahaha!), or better yet, you’re looking for a great, unusual snack for New Year’s Eve.

To be honest, I had made some wine jelly earlier today and thought, “If I can make wine jelly, why not beer jelly” and looked it up on the internet. Here’s what I found: http://growitcookitcanit.com/2011/03/17/stout-beer-jelly/

And then, here’s my rendition:

Beer Jelly

2 Bottles of your favorite (or not so favorite) beer

Lemon Juice (about 1/4-1/2 C)

1 Package pectin

3 1/2 Cups Sugar

Combine the beer (I used Sam Adams White Christmas), lemon juice & pectin in a LARGE stainless steel pot. I say large and mean it because unless you decant the beer the day before this will foam. A lot. Stir until the pectin is disolved, then let come to a boil, stirring occasionally.

Add sugar (all at once) and stir constantly until it comes back to a boil. Boil hard (a boil that can’t be stirred back down) for 2 minutes, then pour into sterilized half-pint jars. If you want it to be shelf stable process in a water bath canner for 5 Minutes (10 minutes at higher altitudes.)

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

